If you are interested in opening a new contracting company or expanding into the state of Connecticut, a license is required. Depending on your type of business, you will need one of three CT contractors licenses: major contractor, home improvement contractor or new home construction contractor.
3 Types of CT Contractors Licenses
Connecticut has three different types of licenses you may need before you can begin any construction work.
Major contractors are licensed and regulated by the Department of Consumer Protection.
A major contractor is “any person engaged in the business of construction, structural repair, structural alteration, dismantling or demolition of a structure or addition that exceeds the threshold limits provided in section 29-276b of the Connecticut General Statutes.”
“Any person who, under the direction of a general contractor, performs or offers to perform any work that impacts upon the structural integrity of a structure or addition, including repair, alteration, dismantling or demolition of a structure or addition that exceeds the threshold limits contained in Section 29-276b of the Connecticut General Statutes.”
The work of a major contractor, includes but is not limited to, roofing, masonry and structural frame work, such as foundations, floor slabs and underpinnings.
Home Improvement Contractor
A home improvement contractor works with a consumer to perform work on a residential property, including permanent changes to a property, including its driveways, swimming pools, porches, garages, roofs, siding, insulation, flooring, patios, landscaping, painting, fences, doors, windows and waterproofing.
New Home Construction Contractor
A new home construction contractor is any person who contracts with a consumer to construct or sell a new home or any portion of a new home prior to its occupancy.
The Application Process
In order to receive any of these three CT contractors licenses, you will need to provide:
- Credit references
- Proof of insurance
- Certificate of good standing in Connecticut or both the state you are incorporated in and Connecticut
- Three references on your knowledge and skills
- A statement that you’re familiar with statues and regulations of the division
- A trade name certificate where your business is located, if applicable
- Current projects and those completed in the last five years
Registration costs $500. It expires on July 1 of the year after you get it.
To get an application for a CT contractors license, you can contact:
State of Connecticut
Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 110
Hartford, CT 06106
You should receive a renewal notice 30 – 45 days before the expiration date of your old license. It may arrive via email or regular mail.
If you would like to renew online, you can follow the instructions here.